I love my cousin Marissa; flooding, flu

IMG_0498 IMG_0520

Cleaning up after rain caused flooding

Nathan is driving and another Christmas has somehow gone by and I think my eyesight’s gotten worse here. I can barely see the computer screen. . . hmmm.
But this week was super interesting.

Monday started out with really horrible rain, which was cool, because adventures and stuff. Hiking through water the smells bad is always fun, I promise.
And Tuesday. . . well, nothing of spectacular importance happened Tuesday, actually.

But Wednesday. . .I talked to my mother. Or was that Thursday? But Thursday I called my mother, and there was much joy and confusion to be had. I don’t actually like speaking English anymore. But yeah, best 6 minutes of the day.

Then Friday was spent in the mission offices for a Christmas meeting. We ate cookies, played a game. It was pretty cool.

And yesterday, Sunday, we went to go sing in the Plaza de Armas. We sang half the himn book, lost my voice, and took lots of photos. Then we all had to go hunker down in the stake center for a while.

An excerpt from my letter to Marissa:

‘ …yesterday there were the football riots where reckless, hormonal men, young and old, went around trying to tip over buses and stuff because their soccer team won. I was so frustrated. They herded all the members and missionaries into the stake center—there are fences around the churches here, which that alone says something. I went about grumbling about how, ‘This would never happen in Utah.’ And low emotional development because they throw rocks and burn things where they’re happy. I’d not like to see them when they’re upset.’

The whole lock down in the stake center, I feel, was a bit over exaggerated, but we skipped off to our house about an hour later, and all was calm again.

But, hey, merry Christmas everyone. I’ll see you all Thursday.
So I’m a total laze and I’m only sending you what I basically wrote The Marissa. . . perdona me.

This week has been a bit horrible. Well, correction, this weekend has been horrible. It was great to talk to all you guys. (Except for Alden and Sinda. Are they still alive? They’re literally the only ones I’ve not seen in over a year.) So Jueves was chill, but Friday and Saturday and Sunday have been probably the worst few days I’ve had in a long, long time in the mission. Friday I started vomiting and didn’t really stop for a while, so they booted me into a little Adventists of the 7th day Clinic and then I was all better after two hours. (I believe I feel about hospitals how atheists feel about religion. Like, there, but my parents always taught me that hospitals could likely be avoided, because the people on the inside are probably trying to sell you something that you don’t actually need. But this is apart, and I’m still trying to figure the analogy out.) So, then I was better and stuff, but the next day my companion also started vomiting, but didn’t have the intense stomach pains that I had, so they didn’t—and still haven’t—shipped her off to the clinic. So all Saturday and Sunday she’s been throwing up, and somewhere between the vomit Saturday we lost our cell phone in the streets and other things and a family decided to not get baptized and now I sort of just want to sit down. And not. Do. Anything. Ever. Again. Like, as a missionary, I feel like a big bag of useless, moldy potatoes. I am a big bag of useless, moldy potatoes. And it’s great. (That was sarcasm. It’s not great. It’s bad.) And then I called my district leader and was like, ‘So, this is what’s going on here.’ And you can bet that he did not help in the remotest of ways.

And I sort of want everyone who’s ever been on a mission to tell me everything’s going to be okay and that I’m a big kid and that I’m going to figure it out. Or at least to send me a letter. Or a chocolate. Or. . . I don’t know. A telepathic hug.

But apart from all this tragic, vomitus state we’ve been in, I guess this week wasn’t so bad. . .

Nope. It was bad.

Marissa Letter
Contect: She heard that the ten tribes are being kept in a huge, warm cave up north. And then I giggled.

Oh, my goodness. You’ve already made this horrid weekend not nearly so horrid. We’re so not phoenixes, but that sounds so cool. It says that when people die during the millenni—you know what, quoting Gospel Principals right now. Love you so much.

‘During the Millennium, there will be no death as we know it. When people have lived to an old age, they will not die and be buried. Instead, they will be changed from their mortal condition to an immortal condition in “the twinkling of an eye.” (See D&C 63:51; 101:29–31.)’

‘Come and see Grandpa Fred’s Transfiguration this Saturday at 5-ish.’ Could totally be a thing, che.

Secondly, I’m almost certain that there aren’t ten tribes just chilling out in a cave somewhere—because what?—because it says that the ten tribes were literally enslaved and scattered by oppression. So the twelve tribes come from Jose and his brothers, and they all go to live in Egypt, and then become the Israelites and then they were oppressed and taken into slavery little by little and they were literally scattered. I’m almost certain. I don’t think God just stuck ‘em under the north pole for thousands of years and was like, ‘You can come out of your room when I tell you you can come out!’ “And the Lord shall scatter thee among all people, from the one end of the earth even unto the other” (Deuteronomy 28:64). I’m literally laughing right now. What flipping cave have we discovered? I want to know your grandpa. This could be so much fun.

So. Hilarious. Was also realing Gospel Principals. . . I like that book by the way. It’s like the gospel dumbed down. Could literally be this suspicious Seminary Doctrine? Sorry. But I was reading it and it says there that God was literally a man before, and he did the same thing that Jesus did once, and then I was like. . . ‘Whaaaat?’ So, could it be that to become a God semejante a Dios, all would have to go through the same thing as Christ? But that’s really high up there on the doctrine. Stuff that hurts my head. Stuff I only talk about really late at night.

Joseph Smith taught: “It is the first principle of the Gospel to know for a certainty the Character of God. … He was once a man like us; … God himself, the Father of us all, dwelt on an earth, the same as Jesus Christ himself did” (Teachings of the Prophet Joseph Smith, sel. Joseph Fielding Smith [1976], 345–46).

I actually have to go now, but I’m so excited to talk to you when I get home. I really, truly am.

Leave a Reply

