don’t eat too many dulces

Image

Mother,

You know, I glimpsed something on the news about this whole Russian-Ukraine bit. They also recently pulled out all the missionaries of Venezuela, and reassigned them all to different missions. We received two new Elders in our zone from that mission. It’s interesting and a little bit scary to watch political disasters away from home, but I also don’t feel any true panic. Not any foreboding unease. Perhaps that’s only because Iquitos is so disconnected from the world.

This week we’ve been focusing on the less actives. We have the promise that if we focus on the less active, we’re going to baptize more people. And this is true. We’re going to baptize the children of all the less active. In the mission, it’s sort of. . . bad. . .to baptize only children. Como dicen, they’re the chocolates. Dulce, but you shouldn’t eat too much of it. But now we have five children preparing for baptism–Christopher, Dubler, Joane, Yolanda, and Hugo. But we’re actually quite happy. They’re all quite darling. And children. Goodness, I miss my littles.

This week was a little bit bamba, as they say here. We had a plethora of activities, so we didn’t have a ton of time to actually go out and work this week, but it was a good week.

We have changes next Monday, which is crazy. Because that’s almost six month out of the house, and that’s a third of my mission. A third. Is that not so crazy? And I still like the idea of you guys coming down here. I could show you around, though not that there’s a ton of things to do, because. . . like. . . eat huge worms. That’s pretty much tourism out here. But still! Come down. That would be really, really cool.

I too don’t get sick very often. We had a mini-sister missionary council with Hna. Gomez, and I guess a lot of the sisters are always sick. I don’t really. . .get that sick. Every once in a while, I get this really weird pain in my back, but not my back. It’s in the area of my back, but it’s not my spine or anything. I don’t know what it is. It’s like something in the center of me has really, really sore muscles. And it’s not so bad that I can’t work. But my point is is that I don’t really get sick out here. And I’m so, so grateful. I think it’s because I ate not-horrific at home, and I make a point of eating apples and cucumbers and any other vegetable I can get my hands on out here. It’s a lot more expensive, but I think the tradeoff is quite worth it. Expensive food for my heath.

It’s pretty normal out here. I think I’ll be changing wards with this next cambio, but I honestly don’t know. They also say that I could stay. Some people have a solid six months in their first area.

I hope the world doesn’t erupt into war. And I hope all goes well with the house. And I hope everyone’s doing well. And that there’s no more pink eye and snotty noses and such.

Love, Hermana Compton

P.S. I’m sending photos, so I don’t really have time to write anyone else. So Marissa and Joy and Grandpa and Sharon and Jennifer and Aunt Cynthia and Elle and all the others writing, I love you all too. And thank you for your time and your letters, and I’m sorry for my flaky-ness.

The motorkars we ride in.

Image

Image

Image

Our whole zone

Image

A couple of the kids in the ward that I adore. Adore, adore, adore.

Image

And remember when I went weed whacking in the jungle? Our bridge to cross the river.

Leave a Reply

